2. List of Events
  3. Music Lounge Vol.5Akira Sakata Cocoda: Withered Sunflower

Events Details

<small>Music Lounge Vol.5</small><br />Akira Sakata Cocoda: Withered Sunflower

Music Lounge Vol.5
Akira Sakata Cocoda: Withered Sunflower
Pre-school children may not enter The performance has finished

Friday, May 17, 2024Starts at 7:00 P.M. (venue opens at 6:00 P.M.)
Kitazawa Town Hall Access Map
Link to Google Maps

Address: 2-8-18 Kitazawa, Setagaya-ku, Tokyo

By train: Take the Odakyu Line or Keio Inokashira Line, and get off at ‘Shimokitazawa Stn.’ North gate and walk for 5 mins.

Note: Shimokitazawa Stn. is undergoing construction and you may be directed to exit from a different gate.

Escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life and immerse yourself in beautiful music to enjoy a different kind of Friday night.
Akira Sakata is a leading figure in free jazz, who continues striving in pursuit of new forms of self-expression through repeated cycles of destruction and creation.
The band featuring his drummer son, Manabu Sakata, will perform in Shimokita!
Take time to savor the transience of 90 sublime minutes of music, where soft gradations of sound occasionally burst into flashes of brilliance.

Click here for flyer (PDF file)


Akira Sakata (saxophone and other instruments) profile
Nana Omori (piano) profile
Shinobu Kawai (bass) profile
Manabu Sakata (drums) profile


Ballad for Withered Sunflower
A Good for Nothing
Dance, etc.

*The program is subject to change without prior notification

Admission fees

General: 3,500yen
Setagaya Arts Card holders and Setagaya Public Theater Tomonokai members: 3,200 yen (advance tickets only)

*Reserved seats only, includes consumption tax
*Pre-school children may not enter

*Wheelchair spaces available (limited number, reservations required)
Fee: 3,150 yen (free admission for one escort)
Reservations: Call the Setagaya Public Theater Ticket Center (03-5432-1515) by 7:00 P.M. on the day before the concert.

Comes with one free drink!

Show your ticket in the lobby to receive a drink of your choice.
– One drink per person
– Drinks may be taken home

Start of sales

10 A.M. on Monday, February 26, 2024
*Tickets will be sold online and via telephone on the first day of sales. They will become available over the counter from the following day.



Akira Sakata (saxophone and other instruments)


Nana Omori (piano)


Shinobu Kawai (bass)


Manabu Sakata (drums)



Setagaya Arts Foundation Music Project Department


City of Setagaya
Setagaya City Board of Education


Open Innovation Co., Ltd.
Taishidou Musical Instrument Store
Matsumoto Memorial Music Guest House
Setagaya General Service Co., Ltd., Community Radio Station FM Setagaya